Lessons of life: The lesson of the chess game

By Eddy Montilla.

CHESS

My father taught me how to play chess at early age, so early that I cannot remember the moment. Since then, I have learned a lot of things from this analytical game, things that I usually try to apply to my life. I have learned to be patient, not to force the issue and move according to the circumstances until I can be in better position to move forward. I have learned to find the best answer, to take the best decision by observing all my possibilities, etc.

    In chess, a player has a specific rating that puts him or her in a particular category. In my case, I consider myself an average player with a rating between 1700 and 1800 (lass B, category 2). Last month, I was playing chess on the Internet, and every time my opponent was under my rating, I felt like a hungry lion ready to devour its prey. However, despite my almost endless optimism, when the player was over my rating, I felt like a dog with its tail between its legs.

    These days, I have decided to try something different and hide my opponent’s rating, name, nationality, etc., and now I only keep in front of me the chessboard. What has been the result? I have been winning four and five games in a row. Today, my rating is 1950, that is, “class A, category 1”. I also defeated two players over 2000 for the first time in my life. Players with this level are called experts. Now, when I play against these excellent players, their high ratings do not fill me with fear any more. The moral of this story is not my personal accolades, but this idea: You don’t know how far you can go, you cannot imagine what you are capable of once you gain confidence and control your fear.

    Until now, I have written more than 1000 stories and without any doubt, this is the most boring one, but believe me, it is also the most assertive and reliable among all of them because the idea I told you today was tested by myself it works. Control your fear, gain confidence and things that looked almost impossible for you, they will be suddenly in your hands.

Copyright 2016 littlethingsforall.wordpress.com. All rights are reserved.

Leave a Reply

