Your father

By Eddy Montilla.

FATHER

D.R. and I have always kept in contact for decades, but I am the person who has taken the initiative in sending emails or calling throughout the years. So when he called me, I could intuit that something had happened. I became the listener of our conversation and after a couple of swift greetings and questions, my friend found a way to tell me everything: His father had died. “Eddy, I was holding his hand at that time.” He told me.

     This situation made me think through how many people change their feelings towards their father throughout their lives. If they are under the age of 10, they proudly say everywhere: “My dad is the best in the world!” When they are over 12 years old, doubts raise over their dad and say: “Sometimes, I think that my dad is not as good as I thought.” Adolescent boys and girls repeat: “My father doesn’t know anything. I will never be like him! Never!” Then, they work, earn a good salary and forget how they could reach the position they hold at present. “At my age I’ve got already more than “this man” did in his whole life,” they say.

     But everything passes with time, including time itself, and as they reach middle age, they start to see their father from other angle: “You know what? There are days when I think that my father is not the foolish man I thought. The other day I came back home very depressed. He was taking a walk and when he saw me, I do know how, but he could read my mind and knew that I was in trouble. Then, he called me, my wife took the phone, I did not want to talk to him at that time, but he insisted and gave me a piece of advice, and it turned out that it was very useful to me.” Time flies and then they already have gray hair, and life tells them what is truly important: “My father knows many things.” And, sooner or later, the day will come when they will say either publicly or inwardly: My father was a wise old man. I wish I had spent more time with him, I wish I had told him that before. My friend D.R. did not belong to this group. He was fortunate in having good parents and since he was a child, D.R. understood the great value of a father. But if for any circumstance of life, your father and you are going through difficult moments in terms of family relationships, today might be perhaps a good day for reconciliation, a good moment to iron out your differences and the best moment for you to tell him: “I love you dad.”

Copyright 2014 littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights are reserved.

Leave a Reply

