Last Love Poems: Dreams painter

By Eddy Montilla.

FLOWER

The next time I see you, I will paint a dream

or perhaps, a poem where you can be my reality.

I do not have to imagine how beautiful you are,

I only have to paint you

with dew paintbrushes and oil fingers.

White clouds will be my canvas and shooting stars will serve as frame.

I will start painting the contour of your body,

then, your arms, and your legs

and that golden brooch on your blouse,

a secret key that opens all my secrets, all my desire.

If you were close to me, I would paint you as you are:

A white breast seagull, an iridescent and peaceful bird.

You would no longer be my unfinished painting,

a sheet of paper peppered with memories,

stains and vestiges of a hidden love.

If you were close to me…

Butterflies would never beg for more springs

or sunny Sundays to fly.

I have painted your eyes; I have painted your lips,

and my fingers turned red with the red of your lips,

lips that only God knows how many times I have wished,

like an old man who wants to be young again,

like petrels that long to return to their land.

If you were close to me…

How many things would change if you were close to me!

But, but what on earth am I going on about?

For a moment, just for a moment,

I forgot that we are friends

and I have to give in my love and painting.

Copyright 2014 littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights are reserved.

3 Responses to Last Love Poems: Dreams painter

  1. “White clouds will be my canvas and shooting stars will serve as frame.”
    That was so beautiful! 🙂 I really liked this work.

Leave a Reply

