What is the loneliest country in the world?

By Eddy Montilla

What is the loneliest country in the world? And the answer is I don’t know.

You don’t what????

I am sorry to disappoint you, but it is exactly as you read it: I don’t know. There are 192…196 countries in the world and I have not been in all of them to be able to give you the right answer. But these two stories may give you, however, an idea about what country can be the winner of this dubious honor. I was having lunch at a small restaurant. Two girls were sitting at a table next to mine. They were using their smartphones for an hour without saying a single word. I am not joking or exaggerating. Believe me! For an hour! When I was about to leave the restaurant, one girl said to the other: “I had a lot of fun with you today!”

The second story happened in a coffee shop. A man in his eighties asked for a cup a coffee and finished his drink relatively quick. Then, he started a chat with one of the employees who listened to what the elderly man said with a broad smile, but rubbing her hands impatiently. This man was looking for a person to talk and a good way to find one was paying for a coffee. His neighbors have never entered his house and vice versa in the last 12 years. The situation is the same with other people who live in the neighborhood: They don’t visit each other, but they greet each other if they meet at the street. As I told you, I don’t have the answer about the loneliest country in the world, but I am sure that it is very hard to beat JAPAN in this aspect.

Copyright 2012 by littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

