“Don’t talk to strangers”, she said

Por Eddy Montilla

I don’t know why, but I suddenly thought about the word “stranger”, and it brought to mind an incident that happened when I was in Newark, NJ. I was in a very decent hotel where elevators don’t go up if you don’t insert your room card, that is, not a place for “strangers”, but only for guests. Besides two fine restaurants, the hotel has a small store, and I went there to buy a couple of things. Two or three customers, no more than that. Then, a woman in early middle age with a scene worth seeing in Hollywood, said to her daughter, a teenager: “What are you doing here? You shouldn’t be with STRANGERS”

     “Strangers”, I said to myself. And then, “God Bless America”, I said to everybody. This world is crazy these days and people see a thief, an enemy in each person walking on the streets. Once upon a time there were people who thought that there were no strangers in the world, but people that we had not met yet. This time has gone.

Copyright 2011 by littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

