Your Mind: The Key to Your Personal Development

By Eddy Montilla

If you are eager for progress in life, I am sure that you have asked yourself this question several times: Why am I in the same place despite working so hard all these years when others got so far? Then you feel as if you were devoured by flames at the thought of the position where you are now and where you should be. In short, rough times, bitter feelings.

     Something that you learn over the years is that personal achievements and economic growth have almost nothing to do with people’s intellectual capacity. I know people who graduated with honors from good universities, but have been engulfed by the daily routine just because they cannot do what they want. Others, however, had an undistinguished university career or could hardly finish high school, but they occupy high and enviable positions. Perhaps you and I are perfect examples of what I am trying to say. Maybe you, like me, have said: “In all modesty, I think that I can do this job similar or better than them, but I don’t really know why (what we really said was why the hell…!) I don’t do it and why I am always behind them.

     The answer should be found in the way we think. It’s not your heart what will lead you to get what you want, but your thoughts. Hearts are capricious. Logical thoughts are firm. What do Olympic medalists say when they are being interviewed? “I always thought I’d win” (If you have heard someone saying something different, I think he does not deserve the medal). As you can see, there is neither a magic wand nor mystery. We just have to be strong and think properly. Self-confidence, tenacity, strength of will, that is, all values and virtues that make us better have its origin in our mind.

     Motivation without logical thinking is just cloying sentimentality. All things we say or do are thought first. Because actions start in our thoughts, our thoughts control our actions. That means everything is interwoven and our present and future depend on how well we think: The stakes are high.

     Our mind is like a double-edged sword: If you use it properly, it will take you to heaven, but if you don’t, then it will be your hangman. I think it is a great idea to spend time to make our mind strong. I can’t guarantee that we will achieve all things we want, but I am sure that we will be closer to get them, and that would be a great step forward.

Copyright 2010 by littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights reserved

One Response to Your Mind: The Key to Your Personal Development

  1. Jose Mendez says:

    Hi, that’s completely true
    As better you think as better you act.
    at.jose

Leave a Reply

