Littlethings4all's Blog

A blog for people who love life

Last Poems of Love: Doubts

By Eddy Montilla.

AUTUMN-2

I don’t know what the reason was…

Your deep eyes like silence

or that happy look on your face at first light.

Perhaps you just arrived at a very opportune time

(like rain over a dried field)

and ploughed my heart, my arid land,

a land covered with thistles of sadness

that you made fertile with your love again.

Sometimes I think it was the way I looked at you: Without exaltation,

excessive illusions about your feelings or mine

or silly prejudice about you and I.

In my dreams, I never saw you wearing a string of pearls,

stepping on red carpet corridors

or thinking about glitzy castles.

I saw you just the way you are:

Human for years, free forever.

I don’t know what the reason was…

Your voice that unsheathes my secrets

and invites me to run along with the sun

and thus avoid bitter moments in the dark.

Your voice, that teaches me to face gray clouds

with an umbrella of humor and love

and told me not to think about dahlias any more.

Maybe it was our life:

Sometimes changeable, sometimes firm,

always looking for the light which guides our steps.

No. I don’t know what the reason was…

And, at this point of my life, I don’t care anymore

because doubts became obituary when love has come

and my love is so blind that it closes all my doors

and today, for sadness, there is not even the tiniest corner left,

only a glimmer, a glimmer of hope.

Copyright 2013 littlethings4all.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

December 15, 2013 - Posted by | Arts, Literature, Love, Poems, Thoughts | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

